Quigg obliterates Munyai in 2 rounds

quigg632In a surprisingly quick victory, WBA super bantamweight champion Scott Quigg (28-0-2, 21 KO’s) made short work of #9 WBA Tshifhiwa Munyai (24-3-1, 12 KO’s) tonight in stopping him in the 2nd round at the Phones 4u Arena in Manchester, Lancashire, United Kingdom

Quigg scored two brutal knockdowns in the fight, once in the 1st and the other in the 2nd round. Quigg finished Munyai with a right to the head that put him down. Munyai got back up but he was hit with a blizzard of punches that led to the referee opting to halt it. Munyai was not going to stay on his feet for long had the referee let the fight continue.

Munyai wasn’t doing too badly until he got nailed by a big left hook that planted him onto the canvas late in the 1st round. Munyai hit the deck on his back and laid there for several moments before getting up to beat the count. Munyai was too badly hurt for him to make it for long, but he did a good job of making it out of the round by staying on the outside and avoiding enough of Quigg’s big punches to survive.

In the 2nd round, Munyai did a good job of keeping his guard up high to pick off the left hook attempts that Quigg was attempting to land. However, Munyai left himself wide open for a right hand from Quigg that put him down for the count. The right hand from Quigg didn’t look that powerful, but Munyai was still hurt from the previous round and he couldn’t take it as well as he might have otherwise.

Munyai was in condition to continue fighting after the referee waived off the fight. He was down for a long time after the stoppage.

All in all, it was a good performance by Quigg against an opponent that was brought in as a replacement.